South Carolina Workers’ Compensation Attorneys
Many on-the-job injuries result in lost wages and expensive hospital bills, leaving victims in despair. South Carolina residents wonder how they'll feed their families and keep the debt collectors at bay if they can't return to work. They wonder if they'll even have a job to return to. If they'll ever fully recover from their injuries.
The trusted team at David Taylor Law, proudly serving South Carolina, can help. We'll not only fight tirelessly for the compensation you deserve after your work injury but ensure you're treated with dignity and compassion each step of the way. That's the approach that sets our law firm apart - and the approach that brightens our clients' futures.
What Do I Do If I’m Injured at Work?
- Seek medical treatment. After your work injury, your first priority is getting the care you need. Keep in mind, however, that you must visit the doctor chosen by your employer if you plan to receive Workers’ Compensation benefits.
- Report the work injury to your employer. Under South Carolina Workers’ Compensation laws, you have 90 days to notify your supervisor of your workplace accident. After 90 days, you may not be able to secure your benefits – including reimbursement for medical bills and lost wages.
- Contact a Workers’ Compensation attorney. Some employers may fight your injury claim or attempt to bully you out of filing for Workers’ Comp. They may also dispute if your injury occurred on the job. Even if this does not occur, it’s wise for injured employees to have a trusted law firm on their side – especially if the Workers’ Comp claim is denied and must be appealed.
For your free initial consultation, call our firm at (843) 620-0065 or fill out our online form.
Because no two Workers’ Comp cases are alike, the list of benefits varies from one injured worker to the next.
After your work accident, the most common types of benefits include reimbursement for the following:
- Medical Bills: Injured workers are entitled to quality medical treatment after their job accident – and full payment of medical bills. South Carolina Workers’ Compensation technically covers 100%, but insurance carriers may dispute how much medical treatment is deemed necessary. That’s why it’s critical to have a Workers’ Compensation attorney handling your injury claim.
- Lost Wages: If your work injury causes you to miss time on the clock, you’re entitled to ⅔ of your average weekly wage based on the four quarters prior to your workplace accident. This amount is capped at $866.67 per week (as of January 2020) and is adjusted annually.
- Permanent/Long-Term Disability: While some work injuries are relatively minor, others are debilitating. If your workplace injury results in permanent disability, your Workers’ Comp benefits could last up to 500 weeks. This also applies to cases where a workplace accident resulted in the death of a loved one. Because of the complex nature of these cases, it’s wise to proceed with an experienced Workers’ Compensation lawyer by your side.
Other potential Workers’ Compensation benefits include reimbursement for:
- Physical impairment or disfigurement
- Travel costs to see your doctor or pick up prescriptions
- Death benefits
“Working with them was like working with friends I had known forever. Very professional but not intimidating.” - Barbara B.
“Best decision I ever made. They stood right next to me from the very beginning.” - Victor V.
“He has helped me through some very difficult times and has done so with kindness and compassion.” - Barron N.
According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics , the most common work injuries include:
- Sprains, strains, and tears
- Soreness or pain
- Cuts, punctures, or lacerations
- Contusions or bruises
These workplace injuries are most often caused by:
- Falls, slips, or trips
- Contact with equipment or objects
- Violence or interaction with other people or animals
- Transportation accidents
That’s exactly what you’ll find at David Taylor Law. Contact us today to schedule your free consultation!
Workers’ Compensation cases can be complicated, so we’ve provided some answers to frequently asked questions here!
What Is Workers’ Compensation?
Workers’ Compensation is a state-mandated program that ensures employees injured on the job receive the medical care and financial assistance they’re entitled to. Companies that employ four or more full-time workers are required to carry Workers’ Compensation insurance.
What Workers’ Compensation Benefits Are Available?
Depending on your injury, you may be eligible for compensation for the following: medical costs (including surgery, hospital stays, prosthetics, medication etc.), lost wages while you cannot work, ongoing medical care (including transportation), and disability benefits.
How Long Do I Have to File a Claim?
In South Carolina, an injured worker has 90 days to report their on-the-job accident to their employer and up to two years to formally file a Workers’ Comp claim. While you can wait up to two years to file, David Taylor Law strongly recommends taking action immediately. If you’ve been hurt at work, get in touch today.
Am I Eligible for Workers’ Compensation Even if My On-the-Job Accident Was My Fault?
Yes. Workers’ Comp is a no-fault system, meaning that you’re eligible for benefits even if you caused your accident – as long as it occurred while you were on the job. There are exceptions to this rule, such as drug or alcohol use.
What Are Some Common Workplace Accidents?
Some of the most common on-the-job accidents in South Carolina include overexertion, falls, car accidents, or damage caused by repetitive motion. As long as your injury occurred while you were on the clock, you’re eligible for Workers’ Compensation benefits.
Do I Have to Go to the Doctor My Employer Chooses?
To put it plainly, yes. To receive compensation for medical expenses, you must visit the “company doctor” that your employer has selected. To request a second opinion, you can talk to the insurance carrier or request a hearing by completing a Form 50. If you did not receive adequate care, contact David Taylor Law today.
Can I Get Fired for Filing a Workers’ Compensation Claim?
South Carolina law protects injured workers from retaliation, including termination of employment.
How Is Payment Calculated?
Workers’ Comp pays ⅔ of your average weekly wages, based on the four quarters prior to your accident – up to a salary cap put in place by the South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce.
When Will I Start Receiving Checks?
There is a seven-day waiting period before benefits will be paid. If you’re out of work for more than 14 days, you will receive compensation for those first seven days. Checks will continue to arrive every week until your doctor releases you to work.
Do I Need an Attorney to File a Workers’ Compensation Claim?
Handling your own Workers’ Comp case is risky, especially if your employer denies the validity of your claim. Trust David Taylor Law’s experienced Workers’ Comp attorneys to ensure you receive the maximum benefits – and to avoid added stress during an already trying time.
Why David Taylor Law?
Our law firm’s job starts when you’re injured at yours. We understand that one work injury can change the course of your future, especially if you’re unable to return to work. Lost wages may make it nearly impossible to provide for your family, or to pay the medical bills that keep piling up.
At David Taylor Law, our Workers’ Compensation attorneys will pursue the benefits you deserve, treating your personal injury as their first priority. Our compassionate approach is proof that you’re more than a case number or a folder in a filing cabinet. You’re an injured worker who not only deserves a law firm that will fight for you but a trusted team who will walk beside you every step of the way.